In the winter of 2001 I finally got to fulfill one of my wishes, to travel around the world. I had a good 3 weeks to travel the world. I booked an around the world ticket through Airtreks. They specialize in around the world tix as well as circle Pacific and circle Asia tix. You can customize you tickets to allow for ground transportation as well as any connecting flights. Well worth a look at if you are interested.

Inspired by Amelie, which came out that year, I decided to highjack a friend of mine’s coconut pirate from his office and shoot pictures from my travels.

San Francisco to Washington D.C.

Around the World 2001 - Washington DC

I started from San Francisco and booked a flight to Washington D.C. to visit my sister. The pic should be obvious. I tried to find iconic places that symbolized each of the places that I visited. It was a little difficult to take a picture of the pirate in front of the White House, so I went with this pic instead. I have visited DC many times before, but this was one of the first times to actually go out to the monuments and actually sight see.

Washington D.C. to Barcelona, Spain

Around the World 2001 - Barcelona

My next destination was Barcelona. I’ve always wanted to visit Spain so I chose this location. I stayed at a cheap hostel and really got to experience late night dining and partying. I ended up getting to a club a little too early 11pm, so I took a nap and went back around 1am and it was still a little empty. Barcelona is beautiful, but it was a little difficult to be there by oneself. I definitely would have enjoyed it with someone else. This pic is at the Sagrada Familia designed by Antoni Gaudi.

Barcelona, Spain to Prague, Czech Republic

Around the World 2001 - Prague

What better place to be around the holidays that cold, cold, Prague. It ended up being a great time to be there due to all the Christmas Markets all around and the fresh, delicious, mulled wine. I ended up drinking lots of Becherovka while in Prague. I also met some great girls from Scotland and learned the term “being skint”. I tried to think of a good pic for this leg of my trip and ended up with the Prague Castle in the background. I probably should have taken a pic of the Charles Square or the Charles Bridge.

Prague, Czech Republic to Seoul, South Korea (via London)

Around the World 2001 - Seoul

Next leg was the longest leg of my trip. I ended up having to connect from Prague to London to Seoul. It was definitely interesting seeing the flight status map in the plane and seeing names that definitely was not familiar since you end up flying over Siberia to get to South Korea. I was trying to find a mid place destination but was short on time and money since I knew that I needed to stop in Korea and Japan. Again, Seoul wasn’t a place that I did much sightseeing since my parents live there, but I ended up going to Kanghwa Castle. That is where the pic is taken.

Seoul, South Korea to Tokyo, Japan and Kyoto, Japan

Around the World 2001 - Kyoto

My final destination turned out to be the most problematic for the coconut pirate. I ended up having no problems throughout all my journey with customs until Japan. They saw the coconut and started to grill me about what it was and to make sure it wasn’t food that I was bringing in. I ended up finally convincing them that it was an art sculpture and let me on my way. Again I was thinking of an iconic place for my picture in Tokyo and probably should have picked the street crossing in Shinjuku, or maybe Tokyo Tower, or the Imperial Castle, but ended up traveling down to Kyoto and shooting a picture there at one of the temples.

Tokyo, Japan to San Francisco, California, USA

I finally arrived back home in San Francisco after a memorable and once in a lifetime trip. I did however forgot to take a picture of the coconut pirate with an iconic San Francisco location. I think this calls for another around the world trip.

