We knew that the honeymoon was over after leaving Italy. However we had the great fortune of having Courtney’s sister living in France. We met up with her sister and brother-in-law, and Courtney’s mom and dad in Paris.

Paris started off pretty slow since we were still in Italy mode and just getting settled in Caitlin and Steve’s apartment. Since both Courtney and I both had been to Paris before, we really didn’t need to go sightseeing and really enjoy Paris without the stress of trying to see everything. Unfortunately I came down with some sort of stomach bug and couldn’t really enjoy a lot of the fine foods. Although I started to feel a little better, I knew that I couldn’t pass up an opportunity to eat at Joël Robuchon’s La Table, which happened to be just 2 blocks away.

I was still feeling a little woozy and my stomach was taking nose dives into my intestines. Eating there really was a mistake for my health, but was worth the experience. We all had the prix fix lunch. It consisted of a three course meal from a pared down menu each with a glass of wine. Although I can’t recall the price, it was roughly about $60 a person?

Prix Fix lunch at la Table

My lunch consisted of Foie Gras as a starter, beef cheeks in a reduction sauce, as a main, and some sort of caramel with sorbet, as dessert. The foie gras was served cold, which didn’t really do it for me. It had great flavor but since it was cold it has the consistency of paté than warm butter. What really did me in was the main course. The beef cheeks were delicious and melted in your mouth. It had a rich, creamy, beefy sauce that was thick. The carrot on top had a lustrous orange color. Although it retained it’s carrot shape, the carrot itself could be cut with a spoon. The dessert was sweet and delicious, though I can’t remember much else about it.

I can’t remember what other people ordered but I do recall Peter had fish, Courtney had a steak that was mouth watering with a side of vegetables cooked in a tangine. She also had a sort of pea gazpacho.

Other food at La Table

In case anyone is interested here is the full menu for lunch.

Lunch at La Table
Lunch at La Table

All in all, I couldn’t really enjoy my meal since I was sick. I also can’t recall much of my meal since I was sick. From what I remember, the prix fix was definitely worth it for the quality of the food with the price. However, the started and dessert were good but didn’t blow me away. The main was memorable. I was expecting more from a michelin starred restaurant in Paris. I would like to try something else, especially when I’m healthy and hungry.

BTW, the meal ended up making me feel much worse, especially since I was digesting really, really rich food.

