Jollibee

While at MacWorld this year, I didn’t have the luxury of time so I headed to get some fast food. I did not get Burger King, McDonald’s, KFC, Taco Bell, or a slew of countless other well known places. I went to Jollibee.

It turns out that Jollibee is the Philippines number one fast food restaurant even beating out McDonald’s. It was entertaining to see countless of MacWorld attendees stumbling in with strange looks perusing the unfamiliar menu. Jollibee does have the standard burger, but it also has fried chicken, and noodles, including spaghetti.

I decided to get the Palabok Fiesta, which according to the website features bihon noodles, palabok sauce, pork chicharon bits, tinapa flakes, sauteed pork, shrimps, topped with egg. I was pleasantly surprised at the multitude of flavor. The noodles had a nice soft and hard texture and the palabok sauce was slightly salty but a mixture of very light curry and something sweet. The chicharon bits was the highlight giving a crunchy texture to the overal softness, similar to what pork katsu does in katsu curry. If I were in Moscone area, I may venture back to Jollibee. It was a pleasant fast food experience.

On a bit of a side note, I remember that that particular Jollibee was there a few years ago then closed down for a while. I thought that it went out of business, but then lo and behold, it opened up again. Not sure what happened, but I’m glad that it’s a Jollibee and not just another fast food joint.

You gotta love the mascot though.

