Lois the Pie Queen

I’m not much of a breakfast food person, but there is just something about chicken and waffles. Again, I’m not much of a breakfast food person so the appealing thing about the chicken and waffles is the chicken. Lois the Pie Queen, a non-descript diner in the middle of a residential area of Emeryville, has the diner fare, but also the breakfast fare. It also has one of the best fried chickens in the area. The skin has a great crispiness and consistently has very moist meat. If you go there for lunch, they unfortunately only have the chicken and waffles on the menu and they don’t serve the fried chicken dinner for lunch. You can order a side of chicken instead. This being said I always get the chicken, but wanted to try something else instead. My friend, Thomas, got the chicken and ordered a side of biscuits and gravy. They only had brown gravy, instead of the typical white gravy served with biscuits, which didn’t go as well with the biscuits, according to Thomas.

Lois the Pie Queen

I ordered the smother onion burger. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the onion burger comes on toasted white bread instead of a bun. The onions were smothered with something, though it was more like grilled onions, and there was a plethora of cheddar cheese cascading between the layers. All the components of a good burger was there except the key ingredient, the meat. The meat was overdone and the patty was fairly small. The texture reminded me of a McDonald’s regular hamburger patty. IF I were to order the burger again, I would ask for it medium rare and see if that helps things. Otherwise I’d have to stick with the chicken.

Lois the Pie Queen

And yes I’m also not much of a sweets person so I have not sampled the pie to see if Lois indeed reigns supreme.

